Entry Decorating

So, our poor entry.

It’d been so, so neglected. Of course, I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. But getting it done was a whole ‘nother story.  First of all, that was the place where all the misc. boxes were stacked when we moved.  Boxes that I had nowhere else to put since Paul was occupying the 2nd bedroom and my storage space was significantly diminished. Putting them in the garage only meant me forgetting about them and letting them sit there until the next time we move, which was not an option, so my husband says. I wonder why? LOL

They were filled with crap wonderful goodies that I needed to sort through. Most of it was stuff from college that I’ve been carting around for the last 3 years and stuffing in the spare closet, as it was overwhelming thinking about going through all of it. I’m not kidding when I tell you it was A LOT of art supplies, portfolio stuff, misc. paperwork, books, photo albums, scrapbooking supplies…are you getting the jist?

Remember my post about Closet Organization? Yup, that was the beginning of the end for the big ‘ole stack of boxes.  Those art supplies were all in the boxes, in no particular order. Just jumbled up. Hence the goal to organize. 😉

DSC03144So the entry, once the boxes were removed, looked like this. I’d already put up the mirror (found at Rite Aid for $5 on clearance. I love a good deal!!) a few weeks ago in an attempt to feel like I was making progress. LOL! I know, lame attempt, right?

I went to Fred Meyer and bought the matching console table to our living room side table. I figured it’d take me 30-45 min. to put the table together. It’s not a large table. And I already had a lamp that I found at a garage sale last year with  B and D. YAY!

Well, that’s one project that took far longer than I anticipated. I had to take several breaks, was sweating up a storm and my back was VERY grumpy with me for sitting on the floor hunched over while trying to get all of the pieces screwed in properly.  But I was determined!

DSC03221

And here’s how it turned out! 🙂 I’m pleased with it. I even found a cute little basket for us to drop our mail/keys/sunglasses/etc. in when we walk in the house.

Oh, and note, it’s totally pitch black outside. 😀 Note the before picture? Yup, still light. Ha! I wasn’t joking about it taking me forever.

2 Comments

Filed under Alex, House

2 responses to “Entry Decorating

  1. mom

    I love it! But darned, I thought it was dark because you had pulled the blinds… next project?? Anyway, looks sophisticated, warm, lovely. 🙂

  2. Rosie

    Umm, can you design my house? 🙂

Leave a Reply

