Hospital Bag

OK, for those moms who have been there, done that, I need advice!  Below is the list from the Hospital’s Maternity Guide, as far as what to bring to the hospital. What is missing? What did you really feel like was a waste to bring?

And for those of you who have delivered at Evergreen, do they have CD players or radios? Or should I bring my own?

For Mom:

  • Copies of the birth plan
  • Bathrobe/nightgown (if you want to wear your own)
  • Slippers, socks – footwear is required by health regulations
  • Personal grooming items and hair dryer
  • Massagers, tennis balls or rolling pin for back labor massage (Should I rent a TENS unit from them? I’ve heard good things about them…)
  • Lotions/oils for massage 
  • Lip balm and breath freshener
  • Snacks 
  • Camera and film/media cards/tape
  • Relaxation aids: tapes, games, books, magazines 
  • Inspiring photographs (of your other children, your pets, a favorite place) 
  • Going-home clothing
  • Nursing bra and nursing pads (I wasn’t going to buy a nursing bra until after my milk came in, so I get the right size. Should I buy one beforehand?)
  • Sanitary napkins (not tampons)
  • Address book and prepaid phone card to call family and friends (Cell phone  charger?)
  • PDA/laptop if desired
  • Advice from my birthing class teacher: At least 2 plastic bags for the car ride in case I get sick in the car

For Dad:

  • Personal grooming items
  • Change of clothes
  • Swimsuit/Swimtrunks for sharing tub/shower during labor
  • Pillow/sheets/sleeping bag for extra bed in the room
  • Snacks

For Madeleine:

  • Infant Car Seat
  • Undershirt and gown or stretch suit (Should we have more than one outfit?)
  • 2 receiving blankets
  • Socks or booties
  • Hat or Cap
  • Snowsuit, outerwear, heavy blanket
  • Several diapers
  • Calendar for scheduling post-partum appointment

I’m going to pack the bag(s) this weekend – so lay it all on me!!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hospital Bag

  1. Jo

    Copies of the birth plan – bring several.
    Bathrobe/nightgown – you’ll want this for after you’ve had her – not before or during labor.
    hair dryer – you’re NOT going to feel like blowdrying your hair.
    Massagers, tennis balls or rolling pin for back labor massage (Should I rent a TENS unit from them? I’ve heard good things about them…) I didn’t use any of this – but then again I didn’t have back labor.
    Lotions/oils for massage – don’t bring oil, you’ll feel really slimy and might not be able to shower, stick with lotion that rubs in. Lavender scent is a good calming choice.
    Lip balm and breath freshener – CHAPSTICK FOR SURE. I never wear the stuff but used it like crazy during my labor.
    Snacks – you won’t feel like consuming any of them and your visitors can bring what you crave immediately after she’s here. Save the space.
    Camera – Of course! and the battery charger and the cord to upload onto your laptop.
    Relaxation aids: bring a dvd or two that you don’t need to follow much. You will NOT want to read before, during or after. Save the space.
    Inspiring photographs – eh, wasn’t my cup of tea.
    Going-home clothing – plan on maternity clothes
    Nursing bra and nursing pads – agreed on the bra, but bring the pads. Although Target does have cheap maternity bras, not the best but a good transitional bra until the milk supply settles.
    Sanitary napkins – you can bring some but the hospital will give you some mondo one that you’ll need so not required.
    Cell phone charger – yes.
    PDA/laptop if desired – YES! It was great to feel ‘normal’ and have my laptop – the internet wireless is great.
    Advice from my birthing class teacher: At least 2 plastic bags for the car ride in case I get sick in the car

    Other things:
    shower cap (when you’re laboring in the tub or shower you might not want your hair to be soaked)
    Your own pillow – I was so glad I had MY pillow 🙂 bring a different pillow slip cover other than white.
    Several outfits for Madeleine – she’ll get more than one dirty in the 24 hours you’re there 🙂

    Don’t go overboard on diapers – they give them to you as long as you’re there.

    Last year (so SHOULD still be the same) every room has a DVD/Cd player, tv with limited cable, wireless internet.

    Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

