Mommy Must Haves For the First 2 Months

Now that we’ve made it through the first two months, I have discovered my most favorite baby items that I feel are essential to making it through the first several months of your baby’s life.

Photo courtesy of http://www.halosleep.com

The first item on my list is the Halo Sleep Sack Swaddler. Both Alex and I are terrible at swaddling her tight enough with a normal blaket to keep her swaddled. She always breaks free. So this handy little sleep sack comes with two ‘flaps’, for lack of a better word, that velcro together. They keep her snug as a bug in a rug and I think this is a huge part of the reason she sleeps through the night. 😉

The other huge benefit is that you don’t have loose blankets in the crib should your baby break free from the swaddle. This helps prevent the risk of SIDS.

Two thumbs up from me!!

The second item is the “My Brest Friend” nursing pillow. I prefer this over the boppy because it wraps all the way around you and buckles together. 

It’s super easy if Madeleine falls asleep after eating, I can get up while holding her with one hand and the pillow with the other and it doesn’t fall off of me.
The strap is velcro’d on, so you can adjust the tightness as your tummy slims after birth. There’s also a handy little storage pouch if you like to have somewhere to store things. 
I love how firm the foam is. It’s not a pillow like a traditional pillow that you sleep on. And it has two little raised bumps on either side that act as head rests for your baby.
The major benefit, of course, is that my arms don’t get as tired trying to hold her up to eat! And it leaves hands free to eat or drink water or do whatever else while she eats.

Photo courtesy of http://www.babiesrus.com

The third item is a baby bath tub with an infant sling.  The one I have is by First Years and it’s awesome because it leaves your hands free to wash the baby, instead of making sure they don’t slide around in the tub while you’re trying to wash them.

I always fill the water up just to the bottom of the sling portion and when I place Madeleine in it, the sling sinks down into the water a bit and it helps to keep her warm. She loves that and is generally in a great mood during her baths.
Along with the bathtub goes baby wash cloths. We use them at every bath time and have a huge supply, thanks to Jo’s shower gift!
The fourth item is receiving blankets! These are fantastic for feeding her. I lay it over my feeding pillow so when she dribbles milk, I catch it on the blanket. Also, it serves as a good thing to wipe her mouth off with after eating. And finally, it’s a great full coverage burp cloth since you never can quite tell where that spit up might land. They’re inexpensive and I just toss them in the wash after I use them since I have a ton.
The fifth item is a great nursing bra. I waited for about a month to buy mine, and I am SO glad I did!! It makes it so much more convenient. Make sure to go somewhere where they will fit you. I was in shock when she told me what size I was.
The sixth item is a good baby monitor. This way you can put your baby down for a nap in their bed or to sleep at night and you can do other things throughout the house without worrying.
The seventh item is a good pump.  I purchased a Medela pump because they are the best, from the reviews I’ve read. I wanted something quick and efficient since I’ll need to pump while at work and store enough milk for me to work 40 hours a week.  Let me tell you, having milk in a bottle is freedom!! Alex can now watch her while I take a nice bath, sleep, run errands, etc. Absolutely fantastic, and takes a lot of stress and pressure off of me.
The eighth item is a rocker or glider. I adore ours! I love the padding that goes over the arms. I love that the back is taller and the seat is wider than the average glider, because Alex can sit in it with her and lean back and still have his head and neck supported. He also loves to sit in it all the way to one side with her next to him on the other side while he reads to her. Adorable. The glider is perfect for putting her to sleep or rocking her when she’s fussy.
The ninth item is a travel system car seat/stroller. I know a lot of people complain that the stroller is bulky, but it is awesome if you need to run errands and don’t want to lug the car seat all over the place. Hint to moms-to-be: the car seat is freaking heavy once you get a baby in it, and awkward to carry. Having the stroller it snaps into is totally worth it.
I know a lot of moms rave about slings, but I haven’t found it to be necessary. ?? I have one, but rarely use it. Madeleine naps often enough that I am usually able to make food while she’s napping.
I’ve also not purchased a bouncy seat, as I don’t really see the need for one. I just use the car seat and rock it back and forth if I need something like that.
I hope this list helps at least one new mom-to-be. I know I felt baffled and so confused about what I needed when I was putting my registry together.
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mommy Must Haves For the First 2 Months

  1. Jo

    Aiden LIVED in the sling from month 4 till about 7. Plus if all they want is mommy mommy mommy – it is an excellent way for them to get what they want and for mom to still have two hands. 🙂 So get ready to break that sucker out in a few more weeks!

Leave a Reply

