Mommy’s first scare

Ok, so it’s probably not the first one, but it’s the first time I’ve called my mom in a panic and didn’t know what on earth to do. šŸ˜¦

Tonight around 7-ish sometime Madeleine started crying. This is also the time of night when she just wants to eat non-stop. So although I’d fed her about 1/2 an hour before, I took her upstairs to put her in her little swaddler for bed and sat in her glider with her to feed her.

She wouldn’t take it. Weird.

Fussing is getting more and more agitated.

I tried to give her theĀ binky. Spat that out. Tried to give her my finger to suck on. Sometimes she prefers that to the binky. Nope.

All the while she’s getting fussierĀ and fussierĀ until she is all out screaming. You know, the horrible face-turning-red, ear-piercing, you’re afraid all the neighbors will hate you because they MUST be able to hear it through the windows, type of wailing.

So I tried rocking her for a few minutes to see if she’d calm down. No. Tried feeding her again. No. Tried standing up and walking around with her while “shhhhhhhh-ing” in her ear. No. Tried bouncing her a little. Nope. Tried holding her in different positions. Nope.

Finally I took her swaddler off and checked her diaper (but I’d just changed her, so as I suspected, not dirty). Still screaming. Tears streaming down her little cheeks. After about 45 minutes and a couple of mommy-melt-downs because I felt so awful for her, I called my mom.

This is how loud the screaming was: I had to set Madeleine down in her room and walk to our bedroom before my mom could hear me on the phone. šŸ˜¦ She suggested I take her temp. No temperature. She was slightly warm, but that’s not that unusual since she had worked herself into such a tizzy. Finally my mom suggested I call the doctor on call at her pediatrician’s office since it’d been nearly an hour at that point. Good idea!

Left a message with the answering service for them to call me back.

And finally, after more wailing and screaming, she sounded like she was getting hoarse. šŸ˜¦ She finally started to calm down a little bit when I offered her the breast again. She was still a little fussy, but was at least trying to take it. **sigh** So then for the next two hours I fed her, cuddled her, and rocked her while she fussed off and onĀ and finally she fell asleep.

The nurse called at some point in there and said that it sounded like M was just over-tired and that was the explanation for the extreme fussiness.

But let me tell you, that was the most awful experience ever. Not knowing what’s wrong and being powerless to help is a really terrible feeling. šŸ˜¦ Once she started to calm down, I noticed that she would get fussy just before releasing some gas, so I think her tummy was unhappy and gassy. That mixed with exhaustion due to her lack of napping in the last week or two and it was a mess.

Poor baby girl. šŸ˜¦

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mommy’s first scare

  1. Pingback: Happy 3 Month Birthday! « Tiny Baby Fingers & Tiny Baby Toes…

Leave a Reply

