Food revolution = Lifestyle revolution

In the last week or so I’ve come to the conclusion that the “I’m on maternity leave/Madeleine takes up too much time/Alex should help me” excuse as to why I haven’t been cooking real meals has GOT to go. For a number of reasons.

First and foremost – it was very unhealthy eating all those boxed or frozen meals and take-out/drive-thru dinners. Secondly, since my maternity leave is technically over and I am now just unemployed, I should consider myself more of a ‘housewife’ and making good meals is part of being a good wife (and mom!) And finally, Madeleine has gotten to the age where she can entertain herself for 20 minutes or so on her play gym or in her bouncy chair, so it is possible for me to cook a quick meal.

The other night I was at the book store and picked up this book: Cook Yourself Thin.  After skimming through it, the recipes all looked good (many of them are comfort food favorites, like mac and cheese, but healthier) and they have options for breakfast AND main dishes for lunch or dinner and then my favorite part. Because I have the worst sweet tooth on the planet – they have DESERTS that are lower in calories but fill that sweet tooth craving! Woohoo!!  

So last night I flipped through and found a good recipe: Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms. Yumm!! A totally vegetarian meal as well, it required only bread crumbs, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, parsley, basil, portobello mushrooms and Fontina cheese. It was also quick to make, as the book claims on the cover, which was great!

I love my Rachael Ray recipes, but the frustrating part about her book is that it claims they are recipes you can make in 30 minutes, which is just not so! Her recipes would take me upwards of 45 minutes – 1.5 hours. Not to mention, she used such unique ingredients, there was almost ALWAYS something that I just couldn’t find at the grocery store.

So this book is a refreshing change. The stuffed mushroom caps were delicious and Alex really enjoyed them as well. 🙂 Now I just need to plan out the next week’s meals and get the ingredients at the store.

Also, today I managed to make it to the gym down the road to sign up for a membership! And just in time, too. The enrollment fee was on special for $27 as opposed to the $79 that they normally charge! In fact, I wasn’t supposed to get the special enrollment fee, but they forgot to take the sign down. Ha! So starting this week, I will be going to the gym 4-5 times a week in the mornings so that I can start my days off right. 🙂

There was a trainer at the front desk and I asked her if any of the trainers there specialize in post-natal training and she said that she does. Woohoo! So I’m also going to have a fitness assessment and will discuss the option with Alex of maybe going to her for training sessions once every couple of weeks for a few months until I get a good routine down.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Food revolution = Lifestyle revolution

  1. Pingback: Cook Yourself Thin – Quesadillas « Tiny Baby Fingers & Tiny Baby Toes…

Leave a Reply

