Baby and Moby – Review

I’d been hearing from a number of people how fantastic and necessary a Moby Wrap is.  So, before Madeleine was born, I purchased one and had it all ready for when she got here.

First I waited for several weeks until I’d healed from my C-Section. I was so excited to use it, and then when I was ready, she hated it!  First it was too loose. So then I wrapped it tighter and she hated how tight it was. No matter how many times I tried, I couldn’t get it to work with her little floppy neck and her own comfort. She would cry after just a couple minutes, if not immediately.

I was recently at a mommy get-together and one of the moms showed several of us – who couldn’t seem to figure it out and had given up  – the way she likes to wrap it. My courage was renewed! Now that Madeleine has a stronger neck, it seems to have made quite a difference.

This week, we used the Moby for the first time, successfully! So Madeleine and I do dishes in the morning together, and then if the weather is nice, in the afternoon we go for a walk around the ‘hood.  She was fascinated. I think she could see so much more than she can in the stroller and her eyes were wide, she would look to her right for a few minutes, then turn her head and look to the left.  Her mouth would sometimes form that “gasp! Look at thaaattt!!” face with the big circle of a mouth. 😀 It was so much fun to walk with her this way!

My alert little girl. 🙂

Now, onto the review:

Having used both the Baby Bjorn and the Moby, I  must say that the  Moby is certainly not the quickest to get a baby into.  I used it today because she was so fussy, I thought it might calm her. However, taking the couple of minutes that it takes to set up the wrap while Madeleine sat, not being held, was not super pleasant for either of us.

My other frustration with the Moby wrap is making sure that you tie it tight enough that it keeps baby snug, but loose enough that she’s not crushed in there. It seems that it is hit or miss  in this respect, and perhaps I’ll get better at that with time.

One nice benefit is the simplicity of it’s design. Because it is not restricted by straps, there are a multitude of ways you can wrap this baby carrier. Thus far I have only attempted the hug hold, because Madeleine likes to be able to look at me while still being able to look around at the same time. But I like knowing that there are other options for down the road.

The fabric is soft and breathable, so while she does make me hot, the fabric of the wrap itself doesn’t make me sweaty underneath. And Madeleine has really come around and seems to enjoy exploring the world in this way.

I will say, after carrying her for a while my lower back does start to hurt. Although I will attribute that in part to the lack of strength in my lower back, as well as a prior injury.

Overall, we like this carrier, because once you get it snug, it really supports her well. However the convenience of it taking so long to wrap and get her into is it’s biggest downfall.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Baby and Moby – Review

  1. Pingback: Happy 4 Month Birthday!! « Tiny Baby Fingers & Tiny Baby Toes…

Leave a Reply

