Monday’s Mommy Tips – Relax! Breathe!

I can’t even tell you how important it is to take some time out for yourself as a new mom.

I’ve heard of many moms (myself included!) who wait until they feel like they’re about to break to ask for additional help from their partner, friends or family.  It’s easy to feel like being a SAHM means that you should bear all the child-rearing burden.

I’ll be to the point where my muscles are so tense I don’t realize I’m tensing them. My jaw is constantly clenched and I don’t realize I’m clenching it. You know that point, I know you do! Where you feel like you could either scream or cry and both would probably feel great, but you can’t scream, so it’s always the tears that come.

So, before you reach this point, tell your husband (or boyfriend or mom or whoever) that you need some time to yourself. Take a good book to a coffee shop and relax.  Go out to dinner with a friend.  Spend an afternoon shopping. Take a bubble bath! Do something  sans baby for a little bit. Seriously. Because taking care of a baby 24/7 is hard and stressful and you need these little breaks to re-charge so you can be the best mommy you can be. Seriously. Because being a mom is the hardest job on the planet and there’s no way to prepare yourself for the sleep deprivation, the self-doubt and the cry-fests from baby. Seriously.

You deserve it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Monday’s Mommy Tips – Relax! Breathe!

  1. grandma

    Iguess this means you had a recent meltdown?

Leave a Reply

