The dating game

As noted here, I was laid off in January just as I was planning on going back to work. Since then I have been squeezing in the job hunt along with full-time mommy duties -which may not sound like much, but 4-1/2 month old babies leave very little free time.

Needless to say, the job market sucks. Big time. Although I have managed to come across a few exciting opportunities. I feel like it’s just one big dating game, though. You know, put on your best outfit (write a killer cover letter), have a great date (pack your resume with lots of good key words and exciting info) and then wait for the call-back. And then if you don’t hear back, call to follow-up. But what if they don’t return that phone call? Is it because they’re busy and you should call back again? Or is it because they’re not interested? There’s no way to know. So at the risk of looking like a stalker, I always follow-up at least twice. I suppose it can’t hurt, right?

However I can’t help but feel like it’s that awkward stage of dating where you sit there by the phone not sure if you should call or not and not wanting to look desperate and needy, but also wanting to make sure the other person knows you’re interested.

***sigh***

If people would at least reply via e-mail if they’re not interested, it’d be much appreciated. Then I wouldn’t waste my precious few minutes during the day that I have time to make follow-up phone calls calling people who don’t bother to call back.

Arrgghhh tonight is depressing. I just want a job. With a company and people that I enjoy. Is that too much to ask for?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The dating game

  1. bri

    if i had the power, i would TOTALLY take you on a second date. you’re a hot mama! lol – hang in there, we’re all rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

