Madeleine’s First Birthday Party

A couple of weeks back, we celebrated Madeleine’s 1st birthday with family and a few friends. I was so sad when I realized that she probably wouldn’t be able to have the party I had always imagined she’d have for her first birthday. My mom heard me say this and decided to plan a very fun, very festive party for her while she was visiting us in early October. Thanks to my mom for hosting!

I know that we could not invite all of our friends/ Madeleine’s friends, but Madeleine still seemed to really enjoy herself. πŸ˜€ She was the star of the evening and got lots of “oohs” “aahhs” and clapping cheers, which she thought was totally fantastic. The rest of this post will be mostly pictures, as I have 171 photos that were taken by various guests at the party. Here are the favorites, but still get ready for photo overload!

Grandpa Steve, Grammie, Madeleine and Alex. 4 Generations!

Hangin' with daddy

The Parkers, Gramma Karin, Karli and Tim

An adorable little rocking chair, just for her!

Cake table!

Cake!

Then, it was time for the cake smashing!! πŸ™‚ But first, we had to sing to her, and boy did she like that. She looked around in awe that everyone was singing all at the same time and seemed to think it was the coolest thing ever. πŸ˜€

Then, on to the cake smashing!

Is that for me??

Yup, I'm ready!

Yes, really, I'm ready!

Smoooosh!

Wooohooo!!

This is awesome!!

Yes, I made a mess!

Are you sure this is ok??

Look what I did!

I even got frosting on my head!

My parents were so proud! (even though I didn't like cake and wouldn't eat any)

Grandpa Steve helped mom clean me up. That frosting made quite the mess.

Then it was time for her to open lots of presents! She was certainly spoiled this year. πŸ™‚

Lots of books!

See?? Another book!

Wo0t!

A giant sock monkey! She has a little one that she loves, and she got sooo excited when she saw this one.

See the hat?? It was a present. πŸ˜€ So cute.

Look at that step!

Then, as things were winding down, my Β mom wanted to show everyone how Madeleine had started taking steps. So she demonstrated. See that?!? She loves it! And of course, all of the women in the room got teary for my amazing little girl!

There you have it, a birthday party in photos!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Madeleine’s First Birthday Party

  1. grandma

    It was so much fun because she was having such a good time- and good memories for her parents, extended family, and grown up friends too! Thanks for letting us to this- kind of softened all she has been through. Here’s to an amazing coming year! xo xo

Leave a Reply

