From a not great day, to a GREAT day!

I have been waiting for this day since the doctors told me she’d never walk. Since the day she showed glimmers of movement. Since the day she started kicking her legs, to rolling over, to pushing to sit and then crawling. I have been waiting. Wondering what it’d be like to truly have a toddler toddling around.

I was starting to wonder if she would indeed need the leg braces that her physical therapist had talked about, because she jut wasn’t taking any steps, or really even trying, and we are coming up on the 4-6 week window that Leslie had given us for a time frame of when she should start.

Last week, actually it was exactly a week ago, she took a tiny little step with one foot. I didn’t really count this as walking because it was only one or two tiny little steps and then she’d just stop. But, regardless, I was excited. She has since taken little tiny steps, but nothing more than 1 or 2.

Then tonight, while Alex was home (which is really cool because he was sad when he missed the little step last week), she started full on walking!!!!!!!!!!!!!! She is still wobbly – as you will see – but she’s doing it! And actually, she was less wobbly at the end of the night than she was in that video. I managed to grab the video camera right after she took her first several steps (of which there were 5).

The rest of the evening she spent working on her walking – back and forth from the living room to the back door taking anywhere from 1-12 steps at a time, losing her balance, and then getting back up to walk some more. She was so proud of herself – which she very well should be! I was so excited I squealed and clapped and jumped around after her first set of steps, so she knows she did something great. 😀 After that she would squeal every time she got up and started taking steps.  In fact, at one point I went into the kitchen and she got down, crawled over to me in the kitchen and got up to walk again. I can just hear her saying “look mommy! I can do it!”

SO, without further hesitation, I present you with Madeleine. The walking girl!! **click here**

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “From a not great day, to a GREAT day!

  1. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy! This is so exciting, give that little walker a hug and a smooch from erik and I!!!!! 😀 happy day!

  2. Jo

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is SOOOOOOO great!!! I’m all teary! GO M GO!!!!

  3. WHOA!!!!!!!!!!!!
    YAY MADELEINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    how exciting!!!!!!!!!

  4. grandma

    Magical Miracle Madeleine-walking!!! She just gets more dear every day. And, if you don’t mind my saying, she has a very distinctive gait- I would recognize her anywhere! Grandpa loved it too. We want more video 🙂 xo xo

Leave a Reply

