The end of an era

As you may or may not remember, I am a breast-feeding mama. Or should I say was?

We have had our fair share of issues with breast-feeding.

First, my milk supply disappeared and Madeleine was basically starving. We had to switch to formula, and finally saw her gaining weight again. You can read about that here and here. I struggled for a month pumping like a maniac while supplementing her with formula and my milk just wasn’t coming back.

Finally, I gave in and was prescribed a lactation drug. I called it my miracle drug. My milk came back with a vengeance and I have been able to breast-feed ever since. With some hiccups. As it turns out, even with the drug, my milk supply was very finicky and would disappear if I was under too much stress, didn’t get enough to eat, tried to lose weight, etc etc. And every time this happened, I’d have to eat like crazy to jump start production again, which caused me to gain about 10lbs each time.

Now, to the point of this post. Sorry for rambling. I found it to be very important to continue until she could get her vaccines again. Since she got her vaccines at 18 months, I have only been feeding her once a day. And given my work to lose weight, my supply had taken a pretty huge hit and I couldn’t feed more than that, anyway.  I hadn’t consciously thought about when I would stop, but with my starting work and the mad dash to get out of the house in the morning, I had just not been feeding her before I left. When I got home and started the mad dash to feed her, bathe her and get her into bed, there wasn’t much time to feed her at night either. And then I thought about it and figured it was time to stop. I hadn’t fed her my milk in several days and she wasn’t protesting, so why not?

It’s been several weeks now and she is doing great without it. I am pleased, because I felt comfortable with the timing, too. It’s kind of amazing to me that I managed to breast-feed her for 19+ months considering all of the trouble I had. It was definitely time, though. And there you have it. The end of an era, but my body is finally mine again.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The end of an era

  1. grandma

    It is a milestone-you have done Maddy a world of good. And also, it IS time!

Leave a Reply

